top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekristinalawx

Chasing Dreams, Hello London

Updated: Aug 15, 2018

It has been toooo long since my last blog and a lot has happened between then and now. A lot of change and movement, from leaving university life behind and moving to London to pursuit a ‘proper’ job as a Marketing Project Coordinator. This blog post is more of a reflection on the past 3 months and to make you realise that your goals and dreams really can happen, and they really do exist!


Leaving university has meant leaving the city of Leeds, academia and the beautiful friends I have made from all over the UK and across the world. I’ve made some amazing, life-long friends, who I’ve shared many crazy, wild memories with and many more to make. I am so grateful for having the opportunities university has given me, from the lifestyle to the academic pressures and the realities of the education system, which has really pushed me to my limits at times and has certainly made me witness both my cracks and strengths. Despite having a few downs along the way, I have had many more ups at university and would definitely recommend anyone to go because it is a great way of growing up and learning a lot about yourself, while gaining a degree qualification all at the same time. Obviously, I know there are other routes and journeys to achieve a similar goal, but university was the route that I decided to take that was best for me, hence why I want to share my thoughts and reflections on university with you guys now that I have graduated.



When thinking about university, it was difficult due to studying a challenging course, being in a long-distance relationship and far away from my family and best friends. However, university was amazing and a place full of opportunities that tested me as an individual, my friendships and relationship. Thinking positively about university has made me realise that I have achieved and learnt a lot about people, writing and most importantly myself. I have become a lot more independent, more head strong, less emotional (if that is even possible) and more confident in my professional, working self. And being able to reflect on your many life journeys and the person you have become, the things that you have achieved and the things that have knocked you back is really important in helping your drive, ambition and motivation. Without the knocks, you might not appreciate the good times as much as you should do and you might not realise traits in yourself that you like, dislike or want to change. So, self-reflect and think positively about your future in order to make the best possible version of yourself.

Straight after my final year exams in May, quite literally, I left university for the final time and headed straight to London. Since being a young girl, I have always dreamed of the lifestyle like the girl (Jennifer Garner) in the film 13 going on 30 - if you haven’t watched it, you definitely should. And now I am finally getting closer to that dream - I am starting my career in global marketing and venturing into the London way of life. I know it all sounds amazing, as if I just clicked my fingers and everything appeared when I left university, that isn't the case! Finding a job while in my third year is stressful and then I had to leave university early to start my new job (I didn't get a summer), and I wouldn't change any of that! So the moral of that is, don't take anything (instagram, stories, reality TV) at face value!


Starting a new job while commuting and trying to find a flat to live in was difficult (tips on moving to London is coming sooooon), a lot of change in my life was happening all at once, but I managed it! It was perseverance that was the key to opening the door to our flat and making all of this happen. Four weeks later from starting my new job, I moved into my two-bed flat, and have now been here for one month. I am ssssuuuuper excited for the future (apart from the washing, cleaning and cooking, which sucks when realising I’ll probably never be living with my parents again #adulthood)!

London really does feel like home to me. I’ve moved in with my best friend who’s more like a sister than a friend, having known her for 20 years or so. We feel incredibly lucky to have found the most amazing flat because we have everything on our doorstep. 3 parks, 3 tube stations, tennis courts, the gym, and of course the best ice cream parlour that makes ice cream flowers (Amorino)! This summer has felt like a constant holiday especially with everything being so new, and the record-breaking weather. Moving to London is more than what I had expected and can only be excited for what is to come next. Goals really do come true if you persevere, try hard and have confidence in yourself. Having targets and reaching them really does make you feel like you can reach for the stars, so keep dreaming big and go get chasing <3

p.s. if it doesn't seem like life is going your way at the minute, keep going, keep focused and keep your mind as positive as you can, while your eyes are focused on your goal! I'm sure you will turn a corner and realise that persevering will make you stronger in the long run. Your time will come, so keep shining!


Kristina x

1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page